Dynamics 365 Financials versus Dynamics NAV 2017

In the right-hand corner, known throughout the world and with decades of experience, we have the most recent version of Dynamics NAV; and in the left-hand corner, leveraging the latest Cloud technologies, we have the newest addition to the Microsoft family, Dynamics 365 Financials. So, which solution is best for you?

If you’ve followed the ERP management system market over the last year, you know that these two solutions aren’t really competitors, since they target different markets and address different needs. You also know that since Financials is based on NAV’s technology, the two systems have more things in common than things that set them apart.

But to gain a clearer understanding of the situation, let’s look at the main differences between the two systems as of today (February 2017):

Note: The list of differences below should not be interpreted as a weakness or flaw in the solution, but rather as a list of features that will soon be added to the product. See my concluding remarks (there’s nothing like a little teaser at the beginning of a blog…).

User interface:

Financials being a cloud solution hosted on Microsoft’s Azure platform, no installation is necessary. It is accessed through an Internet browser or a tablet or mobile app. NAV can be installed on a physical server, hosted on a private cloud or on Azure, and accessed through a Windows client interface, an Internet browser (Web interface) or an application. The Financials interface is similar to the NAV Web interface.

Currently, Financials provides no features for production, storage, or services and human resources management.

Financial modules:

Though your Financials subscription allows you to create more than one company, it offers no functionalities for inter-company transactions or consolidation.

Inventory module:

Within the inventory module, Financials doesn’t provide for the management of several different warehouses (locations), or the management of batches or serial numbers.

Purchasing module:

Financials doesn’t allow you to create purchase quote requests to vendors; it only allows you to prepare purchase orders.

Miscellaneous:

Unlike NAV, Financials doesn’t do the following:

  • Distribute ancillary costs across the cost of materials sold or over additional revenue.
  • Associate carriers or carrier methods to clients.
  • Associate links or create notes and comments for various records.

Personalization:

Financials can only be personalized through “extensions”. This is a new development approach (also available for NAV), which is only just starting to be used by partners.

Regarding Quebec:

Financials’ interface is only available in English for the time being. However, NAV is available in several languages and the French version should be available soon.

Conclusion

Dynamics 365 Financials is a powerful cloud solution based on the Dynamics NAV technology, targeting the needs of small businesses. Although there are differences between the two solutions, Microsoft plans on updating Dynamics 365 every month and has announced that all NAV features will eventually be available in Financials.

Dynamics 365 Financials is not a competitor to NAV 2017. It is more like its little brother, who is going to grow fast and take its rightful place in the management solution market. We can look forward to a quick and positive evolution, that I’ll be commenting on in future blogs.

Leave a Reply

Dynamics 365 Financials versus Dynamics NAV 2017

Dans le coin droit, présentant des dizaines d’années de maturité et étant reconnu partout dans le monde : la version la plus récente de Dynamics NAV, et dans le coin gauche, utilisant les toutes dernières technologies cloud, le petit nouveau de la famille de Microsoft : Dynamics 365 Financials. Alors, quel est la bonne solution pour vous ?

Si vous avez suivi l’évolution du marché des systèmes de gestion (ERP) dans la dernière année, vous savez qu’il ne s’agit pas vraiment de compétiteurs puisque ces deux solutions ciblent des marchés différents et adressent des besoins différents. De plus, vous savez aussi que Financials est basé sur la technologie de NAV, alors ils ont plus de points communs que de différences.

Mais pour bien comprendre où nous sommes rendus, regardons ensemble les principales différences en date d’aujourd’hui (février 2017).

Note : Il ne faut pas voir la liste des différences ci-dessous comme une lacune ou une faiblesse, mais bien la liste des fonctionnalités qui seront ajoutées rapidement au produit. À cet effet, voir mon commentaire en conclusion (rien comme une aguiche au début d’un blogue!).

Interface utilisateur :

Financials étant une solution cloud hébergée sur la plateforme Azure par Microsoft, il n’y a pas d’installation à faire. Elle est accessible à travers un navigateur internet ou une application sur tablette ou mobile. NAV peut être installé sur place, hébergé par un fournisseur privé ou sur Azure, et peut être accédé à travers un client Windows, mais aussi à travers un navigateur internet (interface web) ou une application. L’interface de Financials est similaire à l’interface web de NAV.

Présentement, Financials n’offre aucune fonctionnalité reliée à la production, l’entreposage, la gestion du service et des ressources humaines.

Modules financiers :

Bien que vous puissiez créer plus d’une compagnie avec votre abonnement à Financials, il n’y a pas de fonctionnalité pour le traitement de transactions inter-compagnies, ni de consolidation.

Module inventaire :

À l’intérieur du module d’inventaire, Financials ne permet pas la gestion de différents entrepôts (locations), ni la gestion de lots et de numéros de série.

Module achats :

Financials ne permet pas d’émettre des demandes de soumissions pour les achats, seulement des bons d’achat.

Divers :

Comparativement à NAV, Financials ne permet pas de :

  • Faire une distribution de frais annexes sur notre coût de matériel vendu, ou en ajout sur nos revenus.
  • Associer des transporteurs et des méthodes de transport à un client.
  • Associer des liens, créer des notes et des commentaires à nos différents enregistrements.

Personnalisation :

La personnalisation de Financials pourra se faire uniquement à travers des « extensions ». Il s’agit d’une nouvelle approche pour le développement (disponible aussi pour NAV) qui commence seulement à être utilisé par les partenaires.

Spécifiquement pour le Québec :

L’interface de Financials est seulement disponible en anglais pour le moment. Cependant, NAV est disponible dans de multiples langues, et le français devrait être disponible dans un avenir rapproché.

Conclusion

Dynamics 365 Financials est une solution cloud puissante, basée sur la technologie de Dynamics NAV qui adresse les besoins des petites entreprises. Bien que l’on puisse voir qu’il y a présentement plusieurs différences entre les deux solutions, Microsoft prévoit faire des mises à jour de Dynamics 365 à tous les mois et a annoncé qu’éventuellement toutes les fonctionnalités de NAV seront disponibles dans Financials.

Dynamics 365 Financials n’est pas un compétiteur de NAV 2017, mais bien son petit frère qui sera appelé à grandir rapidement pour prendre sa place légitime dans le marché de la solution de gestion. Une évolution rapide et positive est donc à prévoir et je vous tiendrai évidemment au courant à travers mes futurs billets.

Laisser un commentaire